Watch list announced for Inaugural Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

"I don't know if Earl's in a class by himself, but it sure don't take long to call roll." -- Darrell Royal

On Wednesday the watch list for the first annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose award was announced at the Tyler Chamber of Commerce East Texas Kickoff Luncheon.

The award recognizes the top offensive player in Division 1 football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college.

Thirty five players are on the initial list including TEXAS LONGHORN David Ash as well as Johnny Manziel. Congrats to all the players and congrats to Earl.

The full list is here:

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award 2013 Watch List

Ross Apo, Brigham Young University, Wide Receiver/Junior

David Ash, University of Texas, Quarterback/Junior

Kolton Browning, University of LA/Monroe, Quarterback/Senior

Damon Bullock, University of Iowa, Running Back/Junior

Shane Carden, East Carolina, Quarterback/Junior

Kasey Carrier, New Mexico, Running Back/Senior

Tim Cornett, UNLV, Running Back/Senior

Cody Davis, Purdue, Offensive Guard/Senior

Adam Dingwell, San Diego State, Quarterback/Junior

Cameron Fleming, Stanford; Offensive Tackle/Senior

James Franklin, Missouri, Quarterback/Senior

Keyarris Garrett, Tulsa; Wide Receiver/Junior

Ryan Grant, Tulane University, Wide Receiver/Senior

Deontay Greenberry, University of Houston, Wide Receiver/Sophomore

Marion Grice, Arizona State University, Running Back/Senior

John Hubert, Kansas State, Running Back/Senior

Nathan Jeffrey, UTEP, Running Back/Junior

Jeremy Johnson, Southern Methodist University, Wide Receiver/Senior

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, Quarterback/Junior

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, Quarterback/Sophomore

Venric Mark, Northwestern University, Running Back/Senior

Ty Montgomery, Stanford, Wide Receiver/Junior

Casey Pachall, TCU, Quarterback/Senior

Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, Running Back/Junior

Charles Sims, West Virginia University, Running Back/Graduate

James Sims, University of Kansas, Halfback/Senior

Eric Soza, UTSA, Quarterback/Graduate

Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State, Receiver/Junior

Travis Swanson, University of Arkansas, Center/Senior

Zachary Swanson, Virginia, Tight End/Junior

Eric Ward, Texas Tech, Wide Receiver/Senior

James White, Iowa State, Running Back/Senior

Rodrick Williams, Jr., Minnesota, Running Back/Sophomore

Connor Wood, Colorado, Quarterback/Junior

Storm Woods, Oregon State, Running Back/Sophomore

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Barking Carnival

You must be a member of Barking Carnival to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Barking Carnival. You should read them.

Join Barking Carnival

You must be a member of Barking Carnival to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Barking Carnival. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.