clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Barking Carnival's SBNation Hall Of Fame (#SBNHOF) Submissions

One of college football's Greatest of All Time.
One of college football's Greatest of All Time.

After taking in your input, combining it with our expertise - and respecting the rules that were laid out (recent, you've seen 'em play, one per position, no one after 2007) - here are our submissions.


1. Vince Young - 30-2 record as starter. 2005 Manning, Davey O'Brien, Maxwell Awards. #2 in Heisman Trophy voting (and it was bullllllshit). Arguably the greatest big game QB in NCAA history. 2 Time Rose Bowl MVP (only non Pac 10/Big 10 player to hold distinction). 1st QB to ever pass for 3000+ yards and rush for 1000+ yards in a single season. #10 on ESPN's list of Greatest College Football Players Of All Time. #1 in NCAA Passing Efficiency in 2005. Passed for 6040 yards and rushed for 3127 in college career, totaling 81 TDS passing/receiving. Finished with insane 6.8 yards per carry career rushing average - best in Big 12 history among QBs/RBs.

2. Ricky Williams - #1 All-Time NCAA Total Yardage list (7,206 yards), 2nd All-Time NCAA rushing list (6,279), 2nd All-Time NCAA scoring list, 2nd NCAA All-Time TDs list. 1998 Heisman Trophy Winner. 2 Time Big 12 Offensive POY. 2 Time Doak Walker Award winner. 3 Time First Team All Big 12. 2 Time Consensus All-American. 2 Time NCAA Rushing Champion. Too much random award hardware to list. The most decorated player in Texas history.
3. Casey Hampton - 2 Time All-American DT. 2 Time 1st Team All Big 12. Led 1999 and 2000 teams in tackles - the first DL in school history to do so. 2000 Big 12 DPOY.

4. Derrick Johnson - 1st Team All Big 12: 2002, 2003, 2004. Won 2004 Bednarik, Nagurksi, and Butkus Awards. Consensus 1st Team All-American, 2003, 2004. 2005 2004 Big 12 DPOY. Finished career with 69 TFL (most in Texas history). #3 tackler at Texas all-time. All-time leader for LB interceptions and forced fumbles.

5. Justin Blalock - Started 50 games at Texas - the 1st player in school history to do so. 4 time 1st Team All Big (2003-2006). 2006 1st Team All-American. 2006 Big 12 Lineman of the Year. He played the best, the longest, of any Longhorn in recent memory.

I must offer sincere apologies to Aaron Ross, Michael Huff, Nathan Vasher, Dan Neil, Blake Brockermeyer, Roy Williams, David Thomas, Tony Brackens, Shaun Rogers, Eric Metcalf, Michael Griffin - you're all Longhorn giants, but these five had particularly distinguished careers.
- The SBNHOF will only induct 20 players total, so the competition is tight, and VY and Ricky are probably our only realistic possibilities. In fact, there won't be many other schools (USC, Michigan, Ohio St, Miami, OU) with a legitimate shot at two inductees.