clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Basketball team wins somewhat meaningful awards

The Longhorn basketball had their annual banquet last night where they dined on the finest meats and cheeses and handed out participant ribbons team awards.

Most valuable player: A.J. Abrams

Most valuable player to the other team: A.J. Abrams

Team captain: A.J. Abrams

Most improved player: Dogus Balbay, Dexter Pittman

Outstanding defensive player: Varez Ward, Justin Mason

Hustlin' Horns award: Harrison Smith, Matt Hill

Jay Arnette award (behind the scenes contributions): Damion James

Best set play after a time out award: Not awarded

Scholar-athlete award: Damion James, Gary Johnson

Jack Gray award (outstanding character): Connor Atchley

Solid Citizen award: Dexter Pittman

Mike Wacker Comeback award: Dogus Balbay

Spirit award: Clint Chapman, Alexis Wangmene

Slater Martin award (support of the program): Jesse Sanchez, custodian at Cooley Pavilion

Steve Martin award (talent in decline): Damion James

Mack Brown award (handing out meaningless awards): Rick Barnes