clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Barking Carnival's National Awards Predictions

Last Year's Winner is in parentheses:

Heisman (Troy Smith, Ohio St) Brian Brohm, Louisville

Brohn returns for his Senior year after going 11-1 last year through an injury riffled season. They return virtually everyone and play virtually no one. Their big test will be @ West Virginia on November 8th. They will be 9-0, coming off a bye week, for this Thursday night tilt. Everyone will go with the Mountaineers at home, but Brohm could seal the Heisman with that performance, win or lose.

Bednarik (Paul Posluszny, Penn St) Xavier Adibi, Virginia Tech

I'm not sure what the difference is between the Bednarik and the Nagurski (both "best defensemen") but they don't seem to award the same guy. This guy may get the VT sympathy pick.

Biletnikoff (Calvin Johnson, GA Tech) Mario Manningham, Michigan

Michigan should be great if Carr stays out of their way. Manningham is the best of a deep class.

Butkis (Patrick Willis, Ole Miss) James Laurinaitis, Ohio St

Winner, winner, chicken will see his name a lot.

Camp (Troy Smith, Ohio St) Brian Brohm, Louisville

See above

Groza (Arthur Carmody Louisville) Brandon Coutu, Georgia

Do we care about kickers?

Guy (Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor) Britton Colquitt, Tennessee

This is normally a Baylor or Vandy guy or a Colquitt.

Lombardi (Lamar Woodley, Michigan) Calais Campbell, Miami

Dude is virtually unblockable. I forsee a Elvis Dumerville type year.

Mackey (Matt Spaeth, Minnesota) Chase Coffman, Missouri

I like this guy more than teammate Rucker.

Maxwell (Brady Quinn, ND) Brian Brohm, Louisville

See above

Nagurski (James Laurinaitis, Ohio St) James Laurinaitis, Ohio St

Why wouldn't he win it again?

O’Brien (Troy Smith, Ohio St) Brian Brohm, Louisville

See above

Outland (Joe Thomas,Wisconsin) Glenn Dorsey, LSU

Glenn passed up millions last year to earn mega millions this year.

Rimington (Dan Mozes, West Virginia) Adam Spieker, Missouri

I am a huge Spieker fan and he plans on an O that might average 35+.

Thorpe (Aaron Ross, Texas) Kenny Phillips, Miami

Guy is nasty and Miami will be much improved.

Doak Walker (Darren McFadden, Arkansas) Darren McFadden, Arkansas

Worthy repeat winner.

Coach of the Year (they are multiple COY awards so multiple winners) – Steve Kragthorpe, Louisville

People are blowing serial wondering eye Bobby Petrino and think this team skips a beat without him. Wrong. As you may have guesssed, I think Louisville at 20-1 to win it all is a solid value bet.