clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Taylor Jungmann Wins 2011 Dick Howser Trophy

Texas pitcher Taylor Jungmann beat out Virginia P-DH Danny Holtzen and UCLA pitcher Trevor Bauer (picked 2nd and 3rd in the MLB draft) to become the third Longhorn to bring home the Dick Howser trophy. Scott Bryant won it in 1989 and Brooks Kieschnick was the only player to win it back-to-back in 1992 and 1993.

All-time Dick Howser Trophy Winners

1987 Mike Fiore, Miami
1988 Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State
1989 Scott Bryant, Texas
1990 Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade C.C. South
1991 Frank Rodriguez, Howard College
1992 Brooks Kieschnick, Texas
1993 Brooks Kieschnick, Texas
1994 Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech
1985 Todd Helton, Tennessee
1996 Kris Benson, Clemson
1997 J.D. Drew, Florida State
1998 Eddy Furniss, LSU
1999 Jason Jennings, Baylor 2000 Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech
2001 Mark Prior, USC
2002 Khalil Greene, Clemson
2003 Rickie Weeks, Southern
2004 Jered Weaver, Long Beach State
2005 Alex Gordon, Nebraska
2006 Brad Lincoln, Houston
2007 David Price, Vanderbilt
2008 Buster Posey, Florida State
2009 Stephen Strasburg, San Diego State
2010 Anthony Rendon, Rice
2011 Taylor Jungmann, Texas

Some background on the award:

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

Congrats, Taylor.