clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 Mandates Teams Play Power 5 Opponents in Non-Conference

The Big 12 announced Tuesday that in the future all teams must have at least one power 5 opponent and only one FCS opponent on their non conference schedules -- we're looking at you Baylor.

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

The Big 12 wants everyone to put a little more Big Boy Football in their non-conference schedule.

The league announced today that the 10 teams need to clean up their schedules by limiting their non-conference slate to only one FCS team a year and have at least one Power 5 conference opponent (+ Notre Dame) as well.

"Schedule strength is a key component in CFP Selection Committee deliberations," commented Commissioner Bob Bowlsby. "This move will strengthen the resumes for all Big 12 teams. Coupled with the nine-game full round robin Conference schedule our teams play, it will not only benefit the teams at the top of our standings each season, but will impact the overall strength of the Conference."

The new requirement, AKA "The Baylor Rule," will not effect existing non-conference contracts.

Which means Baylor gets to keep Northwestern St. SMU and Rice for 2016. The Duke Blue Devils do show up in 2017 and 2018 -- as do Liberty and Abilene Christian. Future opponents for the Bears also include: Incarnate Word, Texas State and UTSA.

Utah shows up in 2013 and 2024, but the Bears will need to add Power 5 opponents for 2019-2022

During this same time period, Texas has non-conference home and homes with: Maryland, USC, Ohio State and LSU as as well as games with Arkansas and Michigan.